I recently read a This I Believe essay, written by a young woman in Colorado. It talks of how she believes that just like as many stars in the universe there is a person on earth who is just as unique. One that you never really see them until you get to know them. Even if you see someone and think you might know everything about them you can’t really until you see what’s on the inside. You come across these people everyday and yet it is impossible to know all of them because there are so many.

I found this concept very beautiful as each person is marvel in their own way.  Yet even something so amazing as a star still has a life span. Stars are born and they die every day, humans are similar.  The major difference, those stars all live light years away from each other while we all inhabit the same planet. It’s strange being so close and yet so far from the people around us. Even people we think we know can suddenly become strangers and people who were strangers can suddenly become long friends.

galaxyHave you ever looked up at the night sky and seen all the millions of stars up above? What’s funny is you can only see them best when their aren’t a lot of people around. Like a city, because of light pollution, the light from huge buildings, houses, factories blocks the starlight and we can only a few stars in the night sky. But when you are in a more secluded place, like the country, it is much easier to seem them. The same can be said for people. It can be hard to get to know someone when there are so many others around but when you take the time to really get to know them then you see them for who they really are.

I can only think about how true this concept is. There were multiple times in my life where I would judge someone based on someone else’s opinion of them rather than my own. But when I took the time to know that person they end up being a joy to talk to. I like to believe that I am a friendly person but everyone falls short at one point or another. Though when you look at someone as significant as you are then everything suddenly becomes even ground.

When I first listened to This I Believe, I could help but think of what God said to Abraham in the book of Genesis. “I will make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and will give them all these lands, and through your offspring all nations on earth will be blessed.” Genesis 26:4 This spoke to me many years ago and it speaks to me again. Were all equal, and if we just start to think that way more often then we can find the value in every person.

