Nancy grabbed my attention with her title, “Live your life so that you have no regrets.” Her saying is a popular saying that I have heard throughout my life, especially being brought up in a family full of Christians. The older we get, the more we tend to view the world differently. At the age of 21, I have never understood the saying, “live your life so that you have no regrets” than what I do now. Living in the United States of America we have the freedom to do whatever we desire. We can choose whatever route we want to take in life. It is up to us to take advantage of our freedom in a positive way.

A perfect example would be my junior year in high school. I was a three sport athlete that played football, basketball, and ran track. I enjoyed all three of the sports. Listening to everyone around me, I had to focus on one sport. People advised me to focus on my best sport and to not spend any time competing in the other sports. At the time it made sense because I needed a scholarship to get me through college. My number one goal entering high school was to graduate with a athletic scholarship. With all this going through my mind I still had love for basketball and track. When I made the decision to stop playing basketball and track, I felt confident with my decision. I had a great year on the football field, and I was working out everyday preparing for my senior football season. My junior year performance caught the attention of college scouts. Some schools even said they would offer me a scholarship.

It wasn’t until opening night for my high school’s basketball team, where I felt different. I was sick to my stomach watching my friends perform on the basketball court without me. I was so sick I didn’t even want to watch the entire game. My love and passion for the game had never stopped. I wanted to be on that court playing! The same feeling had came for track season. Listening to everyone around me and not following “my” dreams, put me in a situation where I was living with regret. To this very day, I still regret ending my basketball and track career the way I did.  I have been having a good football career so far. I earned a athletic scholarship and won a couple championships, but who’s to say I couldn’t do the same thing in my other sports.

Follow your heart and work hard to pursue your dreams. Do what makes you happy, and not everyone else. This is your life and you only get to live it once. Life is too short to live with regrets. Do not make the same mistake I made. Follow your heart and live life to the fullest.

Image result for living life

 

 

