When speaking to a group of professional writers, we spoke about many aspects of their career and how they came into their current positions. The talk was very interesting about how they made their way into the industry and what they do at their jobs. One thing they said in our talk really caught my attention. That was, sometimes we don’t give ourselves enough credit and were better than we think we are, sometimes all you need is a little boost.

This really spoke to me on so many levels. I for one, am not a strong writer. I have to have my sister check my papers constantly for spelling and grammar mistakes. But I am an artist, and no artist is more cryptic of their work than the artist who made it. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve redrawn a single line in a drawing because it didn’t sit right with me. This is a fact that isn’t just for the visual arts but all forms as well. You don’t have to be a writer to understand that feeling of wanting to do better.

What is surprising though is not everyone sees things the way a creator does. Where we can find only flaws others can see a masterpiece. Just because you feel as though your not up to par with something doesn’t mean you shouldn’t share it. After all, the only way to get better at something is to practice it right?  Even if your not entirely sure on how to approach something its always better to try. Everything can be a learning experience, pass or fail. And you should take those things you’ve learned and turn them into something you can be proud of.

