I can’t believe it, my freshmen year of college is coming to an end. All the anticipation building up throughout high school has led to this point, and I can’t believe it went by so fast. I blinked and boom, it’s finals week. This year was full of accepting the fact that high school relationships don’t last forever, it’s okay to fail sometimes and taking your own path is more beneficial than trying to please everyone.

Besides adjusting to the work load, it took months for me to feel comfortable in this entirely new environment. Walking into rooms full of strangers on the first day was nothing short of uncomfortable. Even though I was a social butterfly all throughout high school, it was extremely difficult for me to come out of my shell this year for some reason. As I slowly began to develop relationships with some of my classmates, the transition was so much easier.

As the spring semester comes to a close, I am confident in saying that the relationships I built over the last few months are stronger and more dependable than friendships that I’ve had for years. With that said, I’m curious to see what my sophomore year has in store. So far, college is opening up doors for me that I didn’t know were accessible.

 

