Once Upon a Time, there was a girl who invested every ounce of free-time she possessed, into the stage. That girl, was me.

Here’s the thing, I played softball, and volleyball, and would make time for friends, but nothing compared to the amount of time I invested into singing, dancing, and rehearsing lines  for potential parts. Theatre held a place in my heart that nothing could ever compare to replace.

I started being a Broadway Baby at the age of 5 and 3/4. I remember telling my first ever director that I wanted to be Gretl in the Sound of Music, and she just so happened to be five in the script, so it was a win-win. The Sound of Music taught me how to be more outgoing, embrace who I was as a person through facial expressions, and confidence, and was overall a wonderful experience.

As I got older, I had to put more effort into other things. I was playing soccer, and taking dance, and doing shows. There was never a dull moment, but I wouldn’t change that for the world.

Once high school hit though, that was when I realized that dropping everything for theatre was what I wanted to do. I neglected try-outs, and became less involved in the club sports that I had been a part of for so long. Everything started to revolve around theatre.crucible

My favorite shows were my junior and senior years, I was blessed enough to play Hodel in Fiddler on the Roof, Wendy in Peter Pan, Lady Larkin in Once Upon a Mattress, and Abigail Williams in the Crucible. These roles taught me how to access parts of my personality I didn’t even know existed. It made me so much more confident, and I was ready for anything life threw my way.
ouam cast

 

Theatre taught me so much about myself, about people around me, and about life in general. It became my life and my source of happiness, and my escape. I would recommend theatre to anyone, forever and ever. Because who wouldn’t want to be the star of a show?

