Dear clients,

Yes, I am young and I’m a hairstylist. No, this does not mean I’m not as good as an older hairstylist. I learned the same things they did when they were in school, I just did my schooling earlier.

I understand your attachment to your hair, but if you want me to cut off ALL of your dead ends, I’m going to need to take more off than just a half inch. Also, I’m sorry, but there is no possible way of giving you just three layers.
three layers

As a tip when you come in with children, please do not let them run rouge around the salon. We are not responsible for any accidents that happen to them, and if they are getting their hair cut, please, try to help us out as much as you can. As much as you may think we do, we don’t enjoy the snips our hands catch instead of the hair on their head.

Finally, I’m sorry to tell you this, but I cannot take you from a black box dye to a blonde bombshell in one day for under $130. It’s just not possible. Yes, some hairstylists may tell you it is and if you don’t believe me, go to them, but don’t come back to me wondering what went wrong when your hair is orange and fried. What you pay is what you get.

cheap hair

Thank you for understanding,
Every hairstylist in the world

Being a hairstylist myself, these are struggles I come across occasionally. Yes, it can be difficult sometimes, but hair is my passion. The whole point of being a hairstylist is about educating others on their hair. Letting them know the “dos and the don’ts” when it comes to their hair, because everyone’s hair is different. But, most importantly, our job is to make sure our clients feel better about themselves when they get out of our seats. There’s a saying that goes around salons that when you get your license in cosmetology, you also get your license as a therapist. This could not be any truer. Yes, our job is about making them feel better about their self-image. Showing them what they can do to love themselves more. But, that also sometimes comes with lending an ear and just listening to what they have on their mind. That’s where the relationship building happens. That’s how you get a clientele.
underpaid therapist

Being a hairstylist isn’t easy, but when you have the passion for it, anything is easy to overcome. So, I’m going to challenge you to find your passion. It may be difficult at first, and it may have its ups and downs but if you love doing it, then go for it!

