There has been much discussion whether watching sports on TV is destroying kids interests in the game or making them more lazy. People may think that just watching the sports satisfies the kids enough that they don’t feel the need to play it.

In my opinion, there is no way watching sports is bad for kids. For the kids who play the sport, it gives them people to look up to and strive to be. In my high school, our coach would email us videos of players to watch to try to mirror our swings to. I think that is a great tool to have. It also gives us things to look for in the game that we may not have thought of doing.

Another reason why it is good for kids to watch sports is that it may spark interest for them to actually get out and play the sport. Kids are always influenced by something and why wouldn’t you want a great thing like sports to influence your kid. For example, when I was a kid I use to watch hockey every single day. Where we lived, there were no hockey teams to play for so watching the professionals pay was the next best thing. Eventually I got on a team and played hockey for three years before discovering baseball. Without ever seeing hockey on TV, I would have never discovered the game at that age.

And finally, another great reason why sports should always be on tv is because it is a definite steps reliever for many people. Without watching sports, I can tell you I would be much more stressed!

espn logo

